Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Kellog's Gelatin-Containing Products

The FAQ's section of Kellog's website gives examples of which of their products contain gelatin. Interesting to note that the Frosted Pop Tarts and Frosted Mini-Wheats contain gelatin. I remember when back in the 80's, Pop Tarts were the rage among school children. Glad I never liked them. [9/30/09 Addendum: The regular Pop Tarts should be without gelatin per Michael Doss - see comment below]

"Gelatin, which is used in some of our products to provide texture, is derived from either beef or pork. All gelatin used at Kellogg is certified Kosher.

Products containing pork gelatin include Kellogg cereal products with marshmallow additives (i.e., Kellogg's® Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal and Kellogg's Smorz® cereal) and all varieties of Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats® Squares and Special K® Protein Snack bars.

Products containing beef gelatin include all varieties of Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts®, Kellogg's® Frosted Mini-Wheats® cereal, and Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats® cereal.

All Fruit Snacks contain a form of gelatin, either beef or pork. They are used interchangeably and information regarding which one is used in each snack is not available.

The information provided here is intended to act as a general guide only. We ask that you always check the Nutrition Facts on the side panel of each of our packages to determine if the product contains any ingredient(s) that you want to avoid."

click here for Kellog's FAQ site


Michael Doss said...

Only the frosted pop tarts have gelatin - the regular ones are fine. There are several other companies out there that make similar things (with and without frosting) that are vegan and vegetarian, though.

Anonymous said...

Amy's brand carries a "pop tart"-like product in the frozen food section. It is made with organic apples, natural sweeteners, and whole wheat flour, and it is vegan. Thanks for the info on gelatin in Kelloggs products.

Sarah said...

Thank you both for your info! So the non-frosted Pop Tarts are without gelatin, and Amy's has a vegan one. Good to know! I'm going to update my post to say it's the frosted ones...

Thủ thuật smartphone said...