Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Soy Cheese

For the first time last week, I tried soy cheese. I had been avoiding it until then, because I love cheese and didn't care to try a substitute that could be lesser in flavor. However, last Friday, when a friend made us sandwiches containing soy cheese, I didn't find myself missing regular cheese! She had used the sliced soy cheddar from Trader Joe's; she couldn't remember the exact name but I will update this post after I go there and get it.

So I want to ask you all, do any of you have soy cheeses you recommend?

Since going to Swinger's last year and trying their soyrizo scramble, I have totally changed my take on soy imitations. I used to think I didn't care at all for fake meat because I never really liked the taste of meat, but I have realized that certain fake meats taste like a different food altogether. And in terms of nutritional value, soy imitations can contain way more protein and way less fat than "regular" foods. That's my motivation for the soy cheese. Regular cheese has so much fat, it wouldn't hurt to substitute it once in a while in sandwiches. Plus, I wouldn't have to worry about whether the rennet is vegetarian or not, not when the whole thing is soy and marked vegan.

9/18/09 update: The name of the cheese is Trader Joe's Sliced Soy Cheese Alternative Cheddar Flavor.

9 comments:

Bonnie said...

I have found that most soy cheese contains some milk product; if someone is lactose intolerant they should keep that in mind. One truly vegan soy cheese, with absolutely no milk product, is 'Follow Your Heart' brand. I've only had the cheddar style, but it was tasty.

Btw, Trader Joe's has information about the origin of the rennet in every cheese they carry, not just their brand. I love that store!

Sarah said...

Hi Bonnie, that's so interesting to hear that they tend to contain milk! I love the Follow Your Heart cafe in the valley, great place. Haven't tried their products yet. Yes, I have Trader Joe's list of vegetarian rennet cheeses posted here: http://www.goeggless.com/2008/06/trader-joes-vegetarian-vegan-and-animal.html

latinitasoyme said...

i actually purchased soy cheese from trader joe's just last week. it contains dairy casein and natural flavorings, "contain an insignificant amount of dairy". as fore mentioned contain some milk and aren't entirely vegan. good thing i'm not vegan (yet)!

anyway, i purchased the cheese with mozzarella flavor. i cut off a small piece and while the taste was not bad it didn't taste like mozzarella. i also added some to a plate of pasta and melted it (yes, it melts!) and found that it tasted more like mozzarella in that form.

Bonnie said...

Dear Sarah,

I love your blog. I remember seeing the Trader Joe information on your website. This website is really helpful and you are so friendly! I always check here first when I plan to eat out. You are a wealth of information. Frankly, I just enjoy reading the archives. I mentioned the Trader Joe info because they are right there at the store when you shop. When I did eat cheese I always checked the rennet source..but I would forget and leave my lists home - often I would leave without the cheese because I wasn't sure. I've been vegetarian for 35 years - the first 30 years lacto-veg and the last 5 years vegan. You have taught me a lot of things I didn't know and I'm very grateful. Thank you for all your hard work and the time you put into this blog. Your efforts are appreciated and I know I am speaking for the many who read you but never post a word.

While I have your ear, I have a request. :) I -think- I remember reading something about B.J.'s Brewhouse Pizza sauce and/or crust having beef-based "natural" flavoring. I've checked every single archive and I cannot find that article. I'm not sure if it was even on your blog. I may have followed a link in an article about 'natural flavor' actually containing animal products. I wrote to their corporate office and asked for that information but never got a response. Would you see what you can find out about that? Since I don't eat cheese, I get pizza with extra sauce and their crust is delicious. I hope I can eat it again!

Thank you again for all your hard work!

Tina said...

Good article, Sarah. My husband and I enjoyed reading it. Thanks!

Sarah said...

Bonnie, thank you so much for your kind comments. It really means a lot. I have not had as much time for this blog lately, but hearing comments like yours motivates me to squeeze in more time.

Ah yes, the elusive BJ's...I have emailed them several times and been unsuccessful as well. BJ's and El Torito are the 2 companies that are very difficult to get the scoop on. But I have a new tactic I will try for BJ's, will let you know what results. Ironically, BJ's was the restaurant that gave me the idea for this blog in the first place. I was going to dinner there and couldn't recall what the waitress had told me was lacto-veg during my prior visit there 2 months before. So I thought it would be good to record things as a blog...

Thank you again for your comments, and please let me know if you want me to look into anything else!

Sarah said...

Latinitasoyme - thanks for the info! Pretty cool to know it melts. So it seems the key is to put the cheese in something...

Anonymous said...

Hi,

I also would love to know what you find out about BJs! Thanks for a great resource.

miss v said...

many soy cheeses do contain casein. however, my favourite vegan ones are usually tofutti slices.

i've heard that teese is awesome, but i've never had it.

i actually prefer making my own nut cheeses from cashews or almonds. they taste the absolute best!