Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Altoids Mints

Aside from Ice Breakers Ice Cubes, I had also heard that Altoids mints contain gelatin and wrote to the manufacturer to find out. I received the following email from a Consumer Affairs Representative yesterday:

"The majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. A list of these acceptable products is included or attached with this response.

While a small percentage of the products we sell in the U.S. may contain ingredients of animal origin, we take great strides to ensure our products are free from any animal-based ingredients in geographies with dietary restrictions preventing such ingredients. For example, all Wrigley products sold in the Middle East and Indonesia are free from animal-derived ingredients.

U.S. Wrigley Products Without Animal-Derived Ingredients

• Wrigley's Spearmint® gum
• Doublemint® gum and mints
• Big Red® gum
• Juicy Fruit® stick gum
• Winterfresh® gum
• Five® Cobalt, Rain, Flare and Lush gums
• Extra® Cinnamon, Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Spearmint, Winterfresh, Cool Green
Apple, Cool Watermelon, Supermint, Berry Pearadise and Fruit Sensations flavors
• Eclipse® gum and mints
• Hubba Bubba® chunk and tape gums
• Big League Chew® shredded gum
• Freedent® gum
• Orbit® Bubblemint, Wintermint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamint, Sweetmint,
Citrusmint, Fabulous Fruitini, Lemon Lime, Maui Melon Mint, Mint Mojito,
Raspberry Mint and Sangria Fresca
• Orbit® WhiteTM pellet gums
• LifeSavers® hard candies and LifeSavers® lollipops
• Altoids® Sours and Altoids® gum

Note: Slight changes to product recipes can occur from time to time. Please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY any time to answer any ingredient questions that arise.

The different varieties of our ALTOIDS mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin, but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality you've come to love with ALTOIDS."

click here for the Altoids website

6 comments:

Anonymous said...

That's interesting.

The Vegas Vegan said...

"When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified"

Oh, well, as long as it's purified pig parts, then it's ok. Like when my mom asked if I would eat pork in the tomato sauce if she cut it up smaller. (like hiding medicine in ice cream?)

Altoids have been out of my diet for a long long time. I believe "Mintz" are animal free, though.

Anonymous said...

very useful information. thank you.

orbit bubblemint said...

Interesting response. I wonder if they're really looking for alternatives to animal products or if they're just trying to appease the people who write and ask whether altoids contain animal products.
Also, if they don't need it in the middle east, why do they need it here?
In any case, yay for bubblemint being animal-free.

Harry Golden said...

Leviticus 11:7 And the swine, though he divide the hoof, and be clovenfooted, yet he cheweth not the cud; he is unclean to you. 8Of their flesh shall ye not eat, and their carcase shall ye not touch; they are unclean to you.
The King James Version, (Cambridge: Cambridge) 1769. If God said this, how can man change it. Off my favorite Altoids (liquorice)or any other altoid.

Barbie Chiu said...

Start your day positively and the rest will follow. Please do visit my site.Thank you and have a good day.

triciajoy.com

www.triciajoy.com