Monday, February 16, 2009

Tropicana Juice

Interesting information from Consumer Relations via email. Thanks to my mom for giving me a heads up on this. They use fish, sheep oil, and insects for their products:

  • Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice:
    Healthy Heart is the only Tropicana product containing fish because the fish based Omega-3s EPA/DHA are the only 2 approved to use the (FDA) qualified heart health claim. An 8 ounce glass of Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice contains 30% of the 160mg Daily Value (50 mgs) for eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) omega-3s. This Daily Value is 160 mg is recognized by the Food & Drug Administration (FDA) and based upon statements from The Institute of Medicine. You may be interested to know that in addition to listing fish in the ingredients, there is also a kosher symbol (circle K, F) on the front lower left hand corner of the carton; the letter "F" stands for fish.
  • Tropicana Pure Premium Orange Juice With Calcium and Vitamin D:
    Vitamin D is a fat-soluble vitamin that aids in the absorption of calcium and phosphorus from food. Vitamin D functions to raise the blood levels of calcium and phosphorus and is part of a large group of bone-making and bone-maintaining nutrients and other compounds. Some vitamin D is made in the body when skin is exposed to sunlight.

    The form of vitamin D added to Tropicana products is Vitamin D3. Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is considered synthetic and the starting raw material is cholesterol which is derived from wool grease (lanolin). Although it is an animal product, under kosher law it is accepted as a pareve (animal is not sacrificed to harvest the product) product. The concentration of Vitamin D in our orange juice is about 15 parts per BILLION. Therefore, the presence is insignificant.
  • Carmine
  • While we don't have a listing, we add carmine coloring to very few of our products. If carmine is added to a product, it will be clearly listed in the ingredients according to Food & Drug Administration (FDA) labeling regulations. Carmine coloring is among the most stable natural colors and is used by many companies, including juice and beverage processors. Cochineal insects produce a stable red color which has been extracted and used in the making of carmine for centuries and humans have consumed this in food products for hundreds of years; a similar idea to humans consuming honey produced by bees.
I don't know if they can say it's the same as bees producing honey. According to Wikipedia, "carmine may be prepared from cochineal, by boiling dried insects in water to extract the carminic acid and then treating the clear solution with alum, cream of tartar, stannous chloride, or potassium hydrogen oxalate; the coloring and animal matters present in the liquid are thus precipitated." Bees don't need to be boiled for honey.


Anonymous said...

Thanks for letting us know, I have forwarded this on! this is really great to know! How frustrating, how can they make o.j. containing fish!

Anonymous said...

You know what's unfortunate is that we have a carton of Tropicana in our fridge right now but it doesn't list any ingredients. So we don't know if it has carmine or not. Even though it is not in the category of eggs, meat, or fish (categories that I try to avoid), it is something I would prefer not to have in my food!

Anonymous said...

I dont know what to say... Does that mean no OJ for me...i guess yes...

I thought if i avoided vitamin D containing milk, i was not having anything meat...but this is in Juice...
ants for red color... huh