Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Starburst and Skittles Candies

I found a pretty interesting site from Mars (the manufacturer of several popular candies like M&M's) which lists ingredients and nutritional information for various products like Starburst and Skittles.

Starburst Original Fruit Chews:

CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, HYDROGENATED PALM KERNEL OIL, FRUIT JUICE FROM CONCENTRATE (APPLE, STRAWBERRY, LEMON, ORANGE, CHERRY), CITRIC ACID, DEXTRIN, GELATIN, FOOD STARCH-MODIFIED, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C), COLORING (RED 40, YELLOW 5, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1). Product is not Kosher

Starburst candies have gelatin, which something I was already aware of, but apparently Skittles does not and I had thought they do...

Skittles Original Bite Size Candies:

SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, HYDROGENATED PALM KERNEL OIL, APPLE JUICE FROM CONCENTRATE, LESS THAN 2% - CITRIC ACID, DEXTRIN, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, COLORING (INCLUDES YELLOW 6 LAKE, RED 40 LAKE, YELLOW 5 LAKE, BLUE 2 LAKE, YELLOW 5, RED 40, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1 LAKE, BLUE 1), ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C). Product is not Kosher

I do not know why Skittles is not Kosher though and have emailed them to find out. Hopefully I will get a reply soon.

click here for the Mars nutrition website

9 comments:

Michael Doss said...

Skittles most certainly USED to have gelatin - otherwise, I'd still eat them. It's possible they changed their recipe, but didn't remove the 'not kosher' label? I'm very interested in hear more.

Anonymous said...

Either way, its great that i can eat Skittles now. Thanks for the information. It would be nice if Starburst didn't.

Sarah said...

Hi Michael, I know, I think they might have changed the recipe too....hopefully I will hear from them soon...thanks again for your post last year, let me know if you have any more!

Tammy Knowlton said...

I need to ask a stupid question.. I just recently found out about some allergies I have & am wondering if gelatin contains egg?

Sarah said...

Hi Tammy, Your question is not stupid at all. Gelatin does not have eggs, I write about it because it is not vegetarian, go here for my post on it: http://www.goeggless.com/2008/07/dannon-yogurt.html.

Tammy Knowlton said...

Ok thanks I thought that was something else I needed to avoid. Allergies suck man..

Anonymous said...

Although Skittles doesn't contain gelatin, Mars is a well-known supporter of animal experimentation, which seems ludicrous for a candy manufacturer. I'd recommend avoiding the company on that basis alone. See http://marscandykills.com/

Anonymous said...

i emailed the the wrigley company aboot their vegetarian products, this is the reply:

Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to inquire about the use of animal-derived ingredients in our products sold in the United States.
The majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. A list of these acceptable products is included or attached with this response.
While a small percentage of the products we sell in the U.S. may contain ingredients of animal origin, we take great strides to ensure our products are free from any animal-based ingredients in geographies with dietary restrictions preventing such ingredients. For example, all Wrigley products sold in the Middle East and Indonesia are free from animal-derived ingredients.
Our priority is, and always will be, to manufacture only the highest quality confectionery products using ingredients that meet the needs of our customers around the world. By understanding our global customers and adjusting product offerings accordingly, we are able to deliver great tasting confections to more than 180 countries.
We hope this information is helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.
U.S. Wrigley Products Without Animal-Derived Ingredients
• Wrigley's Spearmint® gum
• Doublemint® gum and mints
• Big Red® gum
• Juicy Fruit® stick gum
• Winterfresh® gum
• Five® Cobalt, Rain, Flare, Lush, Solstice, Zing and React Fruit gums
• Extra® Cinnamon, Classic Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Spearmint, Winterfresh, Sweet
Watermelon, Supermint, Berry Pearadise, Fruit Sensations, Mango and Berry Smoothie
flavors
• Eclipse® gum and mints
• Hubba Bubba® chunk and tape gums
• Big League Chew® shredded gum
• Freedent® gum
• Orbit® Bubblemint, Wintermint, Lime Melon, Pina Colada, Positively Pomegranate,
Strawberry Mint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamint, Sweetmint, Citrusmint, Maui Melon
Mint, Mint Mojito, Raspberry Mint and Sangria Fresca
• Orbit® WhiteTM pellet gums
• Orbit® Mist Mango Surf, Peppermint Spray, Raspberry Lemon Dew, Spearmint Spritzer and
Watermelon Spring.
• LifeSavers® hard candies and LifeSavers® lollipops
• Altoids® Sours and Altoids® gum
• Skittles® candies
Note: Slight changes to product recipes can occur from time to time. Please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY any time to answer any ingredient questions that arise.

Anonymous said...

Do ice breakers and jolly rancher contain gelatin?? Please reply soon. Thank youuu