Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Tim Hortons

From their website, I am surprised to see that they have donuts and muffins that are lacto-vegetarian and have emailed them to confirm this:

There are several classifications of vegetarians. Depending on your classification, the following are a few products appropriate for your dietary requirements:

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian: A person following a Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian diet does not eat meat. They may consume egg & dairy products. Please refer to our Animal Content Statement for a listing of products that may meet your requirements.

Lacto Vegetarian: A person following a Lacto-Vegetarian diet does not eat meat or egg products but can consume dairy products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy which discusses the nature of the bakery environment in terms of ingredient transfer.

A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:

  • Yeast Donuts (Apple Fritter, Blueberry Fritter, Boston Cream, Canadian Maple, Dutchies, Powdered Filled Donuts, Chocolate Dip, Honey Dip, Maple Dip and Vanilla Dip)
  • Cinnamon Rolls
  • Oatcakes (cookie)
  • Low Fat Muffins (Cranberry, Blueberry)
  • Bagels
  • Sandwich Buns
  • Soup Rolls
  • Tea Biscuits (excluding Ham and Cheese)

Vegan: A person following a Vegan diet will not eat meat of any kind and will not consume any dairy or egg products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy which discusses the nature of the bakery environment in terms of ingredient transfer.
A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:
  • Low Fat Muffins
  • Bagels
  • Sandwich Buns
  • Soup Rolls
  • Oatcakes (cookie)
Here is their "Animal Content Statement":

The following Tim Hortons baked goods have been produced without the use of animal fats and by-products (including gelatin and rennet). Please note these products may contain milk or egg.

  • Donuts & Timbits
  • Danishes & Croissants (excluding Cheese)
  • Muffins
  • Tea biscuits (excluding Ham & cheese)
  • Cookies
  • Bagels

In addition:

  • All donuts are cooked in 100% vegetable based fats
  • All donut glaze is completely vegetable based
  • All L-cysteine is from a synthetic source
  • The mono- and diglycerides of all Tim Hortons products are vegetable based.
The following chart outlines the type of animal content in each of our soups. Please check for updates periodically as this information is subject to change.



Baked Beans (Quebec Only) Pork
Cauliflower & Cheese Milk
Cream Of Asparagus Milk
Cream Of Broccoli Milk
Creamy Field Mushroom Milk
Hearty Mixed Vegetable No animal content
Italian Florentine Chicken, Beef, Milk
Minestrone Pork/Beef (flavor), Milk
Tomato Parmesan Milk

For allergen information or a list of ingredients, please call our customer service line at 1-888-601-1616.
click here for Tim Hortons' website and to see if there is one near you


Anonymous said...

With all due respect, your baked goods for vegans should be changed. I can only see that vegans would be able to eat the bagels (except cheddar) and English muffins at Timmies.

Anonymous said...

So, just to clarify...the chocolate glazed donuts and timbits DO have eggs in them?

Anonymous said...

yes the chocolate glazed donuts and chocolate glazed timbits do have eggs in them. Only the apple fritter, dutchie and honey dip timbits are eggless because they are yeast timbits

Anonymous said...

Do the bagels have eggs in them? Cos i have serious allergies and i dont want a risk taken

Anonymous said...

Harvest Vegetable Soup: Water, diced tomatoes (tomatoes, tomato juice, citric acid, calcium chloride), carrots, celery, corn, dehydrofrozen potatoes (potatoes, sodium acid pyrophosphate),
cauliflower, garbanzo beans (garbanzo beans, water, salt, disodium EDTA), green beans, kidney beans (kidney beans, water, salt, calcium chloride, disodium EDTA), zucchini, tomato paste,
modified cornstarch, basil, flavour enhancer (hydrolyzed corn gluten, wheat protein and soy protein, autolyzed yeast extract), roast beef type flavour (hydrolyzed corn, wheat and soy gluten,
yeast extract, natural and artificial flavourings, sunflower oil, disodium guanylate, disodium inosinate), roast flavour (hydrolyzed corn gluten, soy protein and wheat gluten, yeast extract, partially
hydrogenated soybean and cottonseed oils, dextrose, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate), yeast extract, salt, sugar, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, white pepper.

Unknown said...

Sorry it may have been stated above but can you clarify please, does the vanilla dip donut contain eggs?

Unknown said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Anonymous said...

Yeah, i will wants to know do chocolate dip vanilla dip includes eggs or not?

Anonymous said...

Does Bagel has Egg ?

Unknown said...

Do roasted coconut donut have egg?

Anonymous said...

So if I am understanding this, all of your product has MILK? How can you claim it's vegan then? I don't care about Eggs or meat I just cannot have any dairy product in my food, this is so miss leading.

ModernDayMinimalist said...

I used to work at tims and all of their bagels ingredients contain eggs as well as all of their breads. None are without.

Unknown said...

Not true. I'm severely allergic to eggs. Bagels do not have egg

Anonymous said...

With all due respect. Vegans are "ABLE" to eat anything, including meat. We just don't want to. A person's ability and choices are two different things. Your statement implies we're incapable or physically handicap to consume animal products; which we are not. We simply have lifestyle choices.

Unknown said...

Birthday cake donuts does contain egg???plz

Unknown said...

Is chocolate dip donut contains egg?

Unknown said...

I agree with you! I am allergic to all bi products (eggs, dairy of all forms). People do not understand that going vegan isn't always a life choice but something necessary to thrive and not always be sick. Wish this list was more clear on what does and doesn't. 😕

Kulwinder said...

Does timbets contain eggs or not

Tboilegh said...

Wondering if the tidbits contain dairy products. My daughter has a severe allergy to dairy. .milk, butter, etc.

Anonymous said...

Do low fat muffin has eggs?

Anonymous said...

Not at all true. My youngest is deathly allergic to eggs and he has no problems with the bagels. So no eggs in the bagels.

Anonymous said...

no they do not