Our Go Eggless reader Miss V inquired about the ingredients for Einstein Bros Bagels. Their website has a list of ingredients (click below for link). I emailed them regarding the source of their cheese and received the following from their customer service specialist:
"In regards to our cream cheese - it may contain enzymes that are mocrobial and calf rennet." She stated the same applies to their other cheeses as well. I also asked her about a vegetarian symbol on the website and she stated the vegetarian items with that symbol may contain dairy or egg. They also offer hummus or mustard as an alternative to cream cheese.
I went through the unwieldy list and noted what appeared to be without eggs, meat, or fish along with the dairy information. The list does not provide details on the sources of the natural flavors, enzymes, etc. I have emailed them for more information, but have not yet heard back.
- All are without egg except for the Egg Bagel (of course).
- The Cinnamon Sugar Bagel Chicago and Style Asiago Cheese Bagel contain dairy.
- All are without egg and all contain dairy except for the Dutch Apple Bagel.
- All are without egg and all contain dairy (and the Pepperoni Pizza Bagel contains meat).
- All are without egg except Braided Challah Roll.
- All are without egg except Cookies & Cream and the Fat Free Wild Berry Blender contains gelatin. All of these drinks contain dairy.
- Veg Out on Sesame Seed Bagel
- Veggie Deli Melt
Salads and Salad Extras (contain dairy):
- Bagel Croutons
- Bros Bistro Salad and Half Bros Bistro Salad
- Chipotle Salad and Half Chipotle Salad - Interestingly this is noted to have caffeine.
- Raspberry Vinaigrette
- Chile Lime Dressing
- Vegetarian Broccoli Cheese Soup
- Iced Chocolate Hazelnut Croissant
- Cinnamon Walnut Strudel
- Cinnamon Stix
- The Fruit And Yogurt Parfait and Marshmallow Crispy Treat contain gelatin.
- The Vegetable Panini, Spicy Roasted Tomato Spread, Traditional Potato Salad, and Cole Slaw contain eggs.