Monday, October 6, 2008

Round Table Pizza

10/6/08 update: The marketing department sent me the following over email after we spoke on the phone:

"No, our pizza dough does not contain eggs, and our cheese is made with microbial rennet.

We have 2 vegetarian pizzas: Gourmet Veggie (make sure to ask for RED sauce) and Guinevere’s Garden Delight. You can also order a cheese pizza.

You also asked about our Garlic Parmesan Twists. The following are the ingredients (the Creamy Garlic Sauce does contain eggs):

  • Dough (same as the pizza dough)
  • Creamy Garlic Sauce (same as the white sauce on pizza) – This contains EGG products
  • Three Cheese Blend (same as the cheese on pizza)
  • Twist Seasoning
  • Chopped Garlic
The following is a list of items on our menu that do and do not contain egg products:

Does NOT contain Egg Products:
  • Pizza Crust
  • Red Pizza Sauce
  • Polynesian Sauce
  • Three Cheese Blend
  • Shredded Parmesan [I have sent an email to confirm this does not have animal rennet]
  • Croutons
  • Sandwich Bun
  • Meats (Pepperoni, Salami, Linguica, Sausage, Bacon)
DOES contain Egg Products:
  • Creamy Garlic Sauce (white sauce on pizza)
  • Ranch Dressing
  • Caesar Dressing
  • Thousand Island Dressing
  • Lite Ranch Dressing
  • Potato Salad
  • Macaroni Salad
  • Italian Pasta Salad
  • Chocolate Pudding"
Just a reminder for vegans that the pizza dough has nonfat dry milk.

From 9/29/08:

A reader inquired about Round Table Pizza last week. I spoke with a member of the marketing department for Round Table Pizza on the phone who let me know that there is no eggs in the dough, so it is lacto-vegetarian. There is, however, nonfat dry milk, so it is not vegan.

Their two vegetarian pizzas (in addition to those pizzas you can create on your own or modify without meat) are Gourmet Veggie and Guinevere's Garden Delight.

Their cheese is microbial.

Also, the Garlic Parmesan Twists do not have eggs in the dough but the accompanying Creamy Garlic Sauce (which is the same as the white sauce for pizza) does have eggs.

click here for Round Table Pizza's website


Anonymous said...

Thank you so much for clarifying this. I had stopped eating the pizza when one of their staff said that the dough contains eggs. Same thing happened with CPK.

Anonymous said...

Glad to help! Let me know if there are any other places where you want me to confirm the ingredients.

Anonymous said...

I just found your site and am so thrilled. My 2-year old son is severly allergic to eggs, so eating out is always a challenge for our family. I really appreciate all the great information!

Anonymous said...

Glad you like it! Just so you know, there could be some issues with cross-contamination with egg products, I didn't inquire about that. If you like, I can give you the contact information for the person I spoke with so you can find out more allergen information.

Anonymous said...

Thx for info! Really helped me stop eating the pizza with creamy garlic sauce

Unknown said...

Does round table puzza crust have milk in it