Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Chevys Fresh Mex

One of our readers in Chicago inquired about Chevys Fresh Mex. I received the following information in an email from their corporate representative:

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian Options (also Lacto-Vegetarian except for the desserts)
• Mixed Green Salad (ranch or salsa vinaigrette dressing)
• Guacamole Appetizer
• Plain Cheese Quesadilla (special request, not on menu)
• Chips & Salsa
• Cheese Enchilada (comes with meat sauce, so need to request either
ranchero sauce or green sauce)
• Chile Relleno
• Portobello Mushroom & Asparagus Fajitas
• Mexican Rice
• Black Beans
• Corn & Flour Tortillas
• Kiddie Menu: Bean & Cheese Burrito (substitute black beans for refried beans); Cheese Flauta; Cheese Quesadilla
• All Desserts are OK (for lacto-ovo-vegetarians only; contain eggs)

Vegan Options
• Mixed Green Salad with salsa vinaigrette dressing
(request no cheese)
• Guacamole Appetizer (request no cheese garnish)
• Chips & Salsa
• Mexican Rice
• Black Beans
• Corn Tortillas
• Flour Tortillas (with the exception of the flour tortillas off El Machino® as they contain whey)

Regarding their cheese, "We use Jack Cheese and Cheddar Cheese. According to the company, they use microbial enzymes on their cheese. However, we do not have the information for our cotja cheese."

click here for the Chevys Fresh Mex website


miss v said...

we don't have a chevy's around here anymore, but this will be good 'travel' info. i'm surprised the black beans and mexi-rice is vegan! exciting!

Anonymous said...

Hi Sarah, i'm sorry but Chevy's rice is not vegetarian. We have gone to many and have been told that they use chicken stock in their rice.

Anonymous said...

Dear Anonymous, Let me email the corporate office again to look into this. Like I mentioned, this came from their corporate representative. It would be helpful if you could email me so I could alert you right away to what I find. If you could please let me know who exactly told you that there is chicken stock it would help. Thanks.

Anonymous said...

Dear Anonymous, Here is the response I received from emailing via Chevys.com, "There is not chicken broth in our rice. We use water and not chicken broth." Please email me the details of where you heard different if you would like me to investigate further.

Unknown said...

Rice contains butter.