Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Tillamook Cheese

According to an email response from a Tillamook Cheese customer service representative:

  • "We use the microbial/vegetable-based rennet to make all of the following varieties of cheese: Medium, Sharp, Special Reserve Extra Sharp, Kosher, Reduced Fat Medium, Garlic White, Smoked Black Pepper White, and Chili Garlic Cheddar Cheeses, as well as Monterey Jack, Mozzarella, Muenster, Colby, Colby-Jack, Pepper-Jack, Swiss, and Reduced Fat Monterey.
  • The traditional rennet is used only in making Tillamook Vintage White Medium Cheddar and Vintage White Extra Sharp Cheddar cheeses."
The representative also gave further information on rennet:

"A vital step in the process of making Tillamook Cheese is the formation of cheese curds. In order to begin this development, a material is added to coagulate the milk. This material is an enzyme, a natural protein substance, which can cause certain specific chemical changes to take place. Only extremely minute quantities of the enzyme are needed to coagulate the casein in milk for making cheese.

For centuries, the only known source of a satisfactory milk coagulant for cheesemaking was an enzyme found in the stomach of milk-fed calves. This enzyme, called chymosin, is commonly referred to as rennet. We are now able to utilize a microbial/vegetable based rennet (which has Kosher and Halal certification, and is approved for vegetarian products) in making most all Tillamook Cheese products."

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

This is very useful information. I will forward it to my vegitarian friends who stay away from cheese because ...

Naresh