Thursday, June 12, 2008

Auntie Anne's

According to the administrative assistant for Business Development & Support:

All of their items are vegetarian and eggless, except the Sweet Mustard Dip, which has eggs or egg derivatives. Their cheese dips do not contain animal rennet.

If you are vegan, please note the following:

"The pretzel mix does not contain any ingredients from animal, dairy or egg sources; however, there are other factors to consider. Most of the dips, some of the toppings (i.e., parmesan herb, sour cream & onion), Mocha Dutch Ice, Dutch Treat products, plus the pretzels that are dipped in butter would contain ingredients that would be from animal sources (primarily milk or dairy related)."

The pretzels that "would not contain any ingredients from animal sources provided that they are requested without butter" include:

  • Original
  • Whole Wheat
  • Cinnamon Sugar
  • Garlic
  • Jalapeno
  • Glazin' Raisin
If you have an allergy, please note:

"We do not recommend to people with food allergies and sensitivities to consume our products because of the potential of cross-contamination within the store and through the supply chain. Even with all the controls, we cannot assure that you would be safe from allergic reactions (it is all a function of an individuals overall allergic sensitivities to the product). Therefore, depending on the allergic sensitivity & risk, we would recommend that you do not consume the products at the store level."

Lastly, if you are vegetarian or vegan:

"A secondary alternative with consumers in a situation as yours would be to use one of our At Home Pretzel Kits (available in most stores). This product allows you, the consumer, to prepare the product under your own control, in the privacy of your house, and still have the enjoyment of the product. The ingredients for this product are listed on the side of the package and do not contain any ingredients from animal sources. "


Shai said...

Just a quick update on this. I emailed Auntie Anne’s to see if there have been any changes to this since the original post went up. While the normal cheese dip is vegetarian, the hot cheese dip has animal derived enzymes.

Anonymous said...

Thank you for this!