Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Subway

10/15/08 update: A reader inquired in the comments section below about Subway's Veggie Patty. I received the following response over email from a customer care representative. Both the Gardenburger and VegiMax have egg whites. I didn't even know Subway has these items in the first place!

"Gardenburger:
Mushrooms, brown rice, onions, rolled oats, part-skim mozzarella, cottage
cheese curd, egg white, cheddar cheese, bulgar wheat, natural seasonings and
spices, autolyzed yeast, sea salt, olive oil, tapioca starch, and vegetable
gum.

Calories 390
Protein (g) 19
Carbohydrates (g) 66
Sugar 6
Fat (g) 7
Sat. Fat (g) 2.5
Cholesterol (mg) 5
Sodium (mg) 960
Dietary Fiber (g) 9

VegiMax is as follows:
The ingredients: Vegetables (mushrooms, water chestnuts, onions, carrots,
green and red bell peppers, black olives), textured vegetable protein (soy
protein concentrate, wheat gluten, water for hydration), egg whites, cooked
brown rice, rolled oats, corn oil, calcium caseinate, soy sauce (water,
soybeans, salt, wheat), contains 2% or less of onion powder, corn starch,
salt, hydrolyzed corn, soy and wheat protein, autolyzed yeast extract,
natural flavors from non-meat sources, sugar, soy protein isolate, spices,
garlic powder, dextrose, jalapeno pepper powder, celery extract.

Calories 390
Protein (g) 24
Carbohydrates (g) 56
Sugar 7
Fat (g) 8
Sat. Fat (g) 1.5
Cholesterol (mg) 10
Sodium (mg) 1030
Dietary Fiber (g) 7

The above values include wheat or white bread, a 3.0 oz patty, and all the
standard vegetables. Cheese or other condiments are not included.

The above information is for a 6 inch sub which is a local product. However,
the nutrient value may vary depending on the store's manufacturer."

From 10/14/08:
I obtained the following information from Subway's website:

Breads

  • All breads are without eggs
  • The SUBWAY® Italian bread contains no animal-derived ingredients
  • The sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate and the mono- and diglycerides ingredients in the bread are plant-derived
  • The wheat bread and deli roll contain honey, which may be considered an animal-derived ingredient
  • The Parmesan Oregano and other cheese-topped breads do contain milk-derived ingredients
Cheese
  • The bulk of rennet used in processing is microbial however there could be a chance of calf rennin in the cheese due to production variables
  • The cheese contains no porcine (pig) derived rennet
Condiments and Dressings:
  • According to the allergen list (link below), all condiments and dressings are eggless except for the Chipotle Southwest Sauce, Honey Mustard Sauce, Ranch and Mayonnaise
Desserts
  • All have desserts have eggs
Vegan recommendations
  • Menu items without animal-derived ingredients are the Veggie Delite® on Italian bread and the Veggie Delite® salad
  • These individual items also do not contain animal-derived ingredients: all vegetables, oil, vinegar, mustard, sweet onion sauce and Fruizle
As an aside, I know that you can request for servers to change their gloves when making your sandwich.

click here for Subway's allergen information (includes information on eggs)
click here for Subway's ingredient list

16 comments:

Brij said...

What about the Veggie Patty?

miss v said...

i forgot about that veggie patty - they don't sell it around here anymore. i kind of thought it was gross.

the veggie delite salad is great if you get a good person that doesn't rip you off on veggies. i use a little vinegar, mustard and salt/pepper dash for dressing.... super low fat and healthy.

Sarah said...

Hi Brij, I never knew they had a veggie patty! It's not listed on the allergy list or ingredient list...I will ask them about it and get back to you.

nitisha said...

Its not veggie any more as it contains egg whites.poeple who are jains and pure brahmins cannot have veggie patty any more with the ""EGG WHITE"" ingrediant.I will stop eating at subway with a veg patty. maybe footlong with jus veggie topppings can do "without patty " can be ordered anyway

Sarah said...

Hi Nitisha, Yes, if you do not eat eggs you should avoid the veggie patty.

Godse said...

Subway does not list Veggie Patty in their ingredients document, maybe becuase its not available at all locations, however usually veggie patty does contain EGG WHITE. In India milk products are considered vegeterian but not egg. Although Egg and Milk is vegeterian or not its debatable, Indian vegeterians should be careful when ordering veggie food outside India.

Sarah said...

Hi Godse, Yes, it is not at all locations.

Anonymous said...

What about Mayonise they put in sandwitch? does it contain eggs?
Every tiem I go to SubWay I avoid mayonize.

Sarah said...

Hi "Anonymous",

Yes, the mayo has eggs. Very rare places carry Veganaise, which doesn't have eggs. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Vicky said...

Then vegetarians and jains cannot eat Cheese also as it is made up of enzyme from rennin which can be coming from calf..so i vl stop eating cheese at subway too..

ZJ said...

Hi guys,

I am a JAIN vegetarian
and I eat JAIN vegetarian meals only ...

JAIN meal means
food prepared WITHOUT bulbous vegetables such as
garlic, onion, spring onions, chives, etc ...
in fact any vegetables / herbs with bulbs or grown from bulbs.

A peron on jain diet needs not be a vegetarian

A vegetarian can eat garlic, onions, chives etc

Well, I happened to be both a jain and vegetarian.

So no subway veggie patty for me :}

Btw, garlic and onions leave a yucky and sticy taste on the tongue and cause smelly breaths ... :P no offence ...

Anonymous said...

is it chipotle sause has egg?because I am vegetarian and I don't eat egg eather.

Anonymous said...

Is der garlic in oregano n oregano bread? N is it sure al things f jain footlongs are purly eggless? Including musterd sauce n myonis also? Pls reply

Anonymous said...

The egg mayo hav any onion and garlic?

Anonymous said...

No Product at subway has complete vegetarian ingredient if we choose veg patty then in sauce it always has eggs

amit said...

What sausages in subway are free from egg?