Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Pizza Hut

7/22/08 update: I finally received more information from Pizza Hut's customer service and can answer the reader question below (see the comments section). It appears that all of their pizza and breadstick ingredients are vegetarian-friendly. See the previous 5/22/08 post for details on preparation that were obtained from their website.

Regarding the reader question below on cheese:
"The cheese we use in our pizzas contains no ingredients of animal origin other than milk. In food science terminology, the enzyme used in the starter culture is a biosynthesized ingredient from a microbial source approved by the FDA."

Additional information:
"Pizza Hut has two different sauces that are used for our pizzas. Neither of these sauces contain any ingredients of animal origin. We also serve a warm marinara sauce with our breadsticks. This sauce also does not contain any ingredients of animal origin.

Pizza Hut offers four different types of dough: Pan, Thin ‘n Crispy®, Hand-tossed Style and breadstick. Just like our cheese, the enzymes found in all four dough types are from a microbial source, not of animal origin. There are also mono- & diglycerides in our dough. These are of a vegetable source, not of animal origin."

From 5/22/08:

All of their sauces, breadsticks, and cinnamon sticks are prepared on common equipment which may contain eggs.

They have three types of dough which are without eggs/ prepared on separate equipment:
Pan Dough
Personal Pan Pizza Dough
Thin 'N Crispy Dough

Their vegetable toppings are also without eggs/ prepared on separate equipment.
click here for more information on Pizza Hut ingredients

5 comments:

Sach said...

I was wondering what kind of cheese do they use meaning whether it contains animal rennet or not.

I am so thankful to you for all the work you are doing. really really appreciate it.

Sarah said...

Hi Sach,
Good question! I had asked them about this a while ago on their website but have not yet heard back. I will post the information as soon as I get it. Glad you find the site helpful! Let me know if there are any other questions I can look into for you.

Naresh said...

The details regarding Pizza Hut's ingradient is very helpful. I will pass it on to some of our concerned veggie friends.

Sammy's Mommy said...

Hey Sarah, Just came across your site. Fantabulous - is all I can say! Thank you. I too have a bunch of emails/research from companies, but nothing quite as extensive as this!!

Hey, I have read somewhere that Pizza Hut pizza sauce contains chicken broth in it. Obviously that is not going to be on their allergen listing. How, on Earth, do we confirm that???

Sarah said...

Hi Sammy's Mommy, Thank you! Regarding your question, their sauce does not according to the email I received from them. They stated, "Pizza Hut has two different sauces that are used for our pizzas. Neither of these sauces contain any ingredients of animal origin. We also serve a warm marinara sauce with our breadsticks. This sauce also does not contain any ingredients of animal origin." Let me know if you have any other questions.