I received the following information from Guest Relations. I have heard that several other Mexican restaurants also put chicken stock or pork in their rice and beans:
"Please be aware that many of our recipes contain meat, fish, egg and dairy products and normal kitchen operations involve the sharing of cooking and preparation areas.
Please be aware that our rice and refried beans are not vegetarian -- the refried beans contain pork and the rice is prepared with chicken stock. It is important to note that anything prepared with refried beans will also contain pork. When ordering your meal, we recommend that you ask your server to eliminate refried beans from any dish that you order. Additionally, all fried items are prepared in 100% vegetable oil, but it is possible for these items to come into contact with animal products during the cooking process.
Based on our supplier information, the items you may consider are as follows:
Suggested Menu Options for Lacto-Ovo-Vegetarians (contain egg and dairy, but no meat):**
- Salad Dressings: Fat Free Balsamic Vinaigrette, Chipotle Honey Mustard, Ranch
- Desserts: Border Brownie Sundae, Dulce De Leche Cheesecake
- All “Suggested Menu Options for Lacto-Vegetarians and Vegans” listed below
I received the following information from Guest Relations. I have heard that several restaurants serving Mexican food can have chicken stock or pork in the rice and beans, and they are no exception:
- Corn and Flour Tortillas (omit all fried varieties, i.e. Corn Tortilla Chips or Strips)
- Appetizers: Chili Con Queso
- Salads: House Salad - Order without Tortilla Strips
- Sides: Black Beans with Cheese, Grilled Veggies (not sautéed)
- Enchiladas: Cheese only – Order without Enchilada Sauces, including Tomatillo Sauce
- Desserts: Kahlua Ice Cream Pie, Vanilla Ice Cream w/ or w/out Chocolate Syrup
- All “Suggested Menu Options for Vegans” listed below
- Only Corn Tortillas (omit all fried varieties, i.e. Corn Tortilla Chips or Strips)
- Appetizers: Guacamole Live
- Salads: House Salad – Order without Cheese and Tortilla Strips (choose dressing below or Salsa) Fajita Salad with Portobello - – Order Portobello as a substitute for chicken or beef in the salad.
- Salad Dressings – Smoked Jalapeno Vinaigrette
- Sides: Salsa, Black Beans (omit Cheese), Black Bean and Corn Relish, Steamed Veggies, Guacamole
- Fajitas: Portobello with Corn Tortillas
- Quesadillas: Veggie with Corn Tortillas – Order with Steamed Veggies only.
- Tacos: Veggie with Corn Tortillas – Order with Steamed Veggies only.
On your next visit to On The Border, please speak with a manager about your dietary restrictions to ensure that your meal is carefully prepared with your needs in mind."
Regarding their cheeses:
"The following cheeses used at On The Border do NOT contain animal-derived rennet and are considered vegetarian:
- Vendor: Great Lakes
- Bleu cheese crumbles
- Cheddar cheese, shredded
- Monterey Jack Cheese, shredded
- Pepper Jack Cheese, shredded
Velvet) may contain animal-derived enzymes."
For a list of egg-containing items: