Saturday, July 19, 2008

Chili's Grill and Bar

7/19/08 update:

Details on their cheeses:
"Vendor #1 - Land O Lakes - American Slices, Swiss Slices, and Shredded Parmesan all COULD be made with animal rennet.
Vendor #2 - Sargento - Smoked Cheddar Slices, Half Moon Provolone Slices are made with microbial rennet.
Vendor #3 - Great Lakes - Bleu Cheese Crumbles, Shredded Cheddar, Mild Cheddar, Shredded Monterey Jack, and Shredded Pepper Jack are made with microbial rennet."

6/3/08 update: The salsa does not have chicken fat. Here are the ingredients from guest relations:

Chili's Mexican Salsa Base, Item #73931
Ingredient Statement: Concentrated crushed tomatoes, jalapeno peppers, onions, water, distilled vinegar, salt, dehydrated onions, spices, dehydrated garlic, sodium benzoate (preservative).

"In addition our corporate nutrition specialist has compiled the list below of Chili's vegan/vegetarian menu suggestions. Please be aware that none of our food items are certified vegetarian.

Additionally, many of our recipes contain meat, fish, egg and diary products and normal kitchen operations involve the sharing of cooking and preparation areas, including common fryer oil. Therefore, it is possible for any food item, including French Fries and/or Chips, to come in contact with animal products during preparation and/or cooking processes.

Based on our supplier information, the vegan items you may consider are as follows:
Corn Tortillas
Salad without cheeses, meats, fried tortilla strips or croutons (choose dressings below only)
Low-fat Vinaigrette Salad Dressing
Pico de Gallo
Salsa Picante
Rice
Guacamole
Kettle Black Beans
Corn on the Cob or Broccoli or Fresh Steamed Veggies (request no oil, butter or parmesan cheese)
Sliced Fresh Tomatoes, Raw Onions and/or Bell Pepper
Marinara Sauce

** Please note that our Black Bean burger is not vegan friendly and contains dairy ingredients.

On your next visit to Chili’s, please speak with a manager about your dietary restrictions to ensure that your meal is carefully prepared with your needs in mind. We hope that you are able to choose a meal to your liking and look forward to serving you soon."

From 5/23/08:

I have written to them for the exact details on what is vegetarian, I had heard once that they have chicken fat in their salsa. Meanwhile, here are there suggested menu options for someone with an egg allergy.

This list expires monthly (7/31/08):
click here for more info

No comments: